HomeAlumniNotable Alumni

Notable Alumni


Adrienne Cheasty

Deputy Director, Fiscal Affairs Department, International Monetary Fund (IMF)

Anne Deegan

Managing Director, 
SEI Investments Trustee and Custodial Services Limited
Executive member of the Foundation Board of W.I.T.

Carmel Humphries

First woman Professor of Zoology in U.C.D 
(1956 – 70)

Carrie Crowley

TV Presenter, Radio Broadcaster and actress

Clodagh Walsh

RTE Newsreader, Reviewer and Reporter

Dervla Murphy

Travel Writer and Social Commentator

Ella Shanahan

Former London editor of The Irish Times.
Ireland’s first female agriculture correspondent
One of the first female presenters on RTÉ’s News at One.

Frances Shanahan

RTE Journalist

Geraldine Grimm

Lecturer in German at Tufts University and Suffolk University
Formerly lectured in German at Harvard University

Hester Cooke

Poet and Author

Imelda Maher

Sutherland Professor in European Law, the first woman to hold a chair in law in UCD and also the first holder of the Sutherland Chair

Founding member of the European Law Institute

Elected a member of the Royal Irish Academy, the highest academic honour that can be bestowed by the Irish state.

Jacqui Corcoran

RTE Radio Producer

Joan Walsh-Smith

Sculptor and Artist
(International commissions in Europe, Asia and Australia)

Catherine Bayley-Butler

First Irish woman to get a pilot's licence. Later Sr. Catherine (Sisters of Charity)

Katherine Fitzgerald

Associate Professor of Medicine, Immunology & Infectious Diseases Research, University of Massachusetts.

Louise Richardson

Principal and Vice-Chancellor at St. Andrew’s University. 
Formerly Executive Dean of the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University

Sr. June Fennelly

Principal of St. Angela’s School 1975 – 2004
Director of Ursuline Education Office 2005 to date.
Member of Governing Body of W.I.T.
Member of the Catholic Schools’ Partnership set up by the Irish Bishops’ Conference.

Anno O'Rahilly

Revolutionary Republican and sister of The O’Rahilly.

Áine O’Connor

TV Presenter and Producer

Grace O'Sullivan

Greenpeace Activist
Crew member on the Rainbow Warrior
Former Irish Surfing Champion



Mary White

TD 2007 – ’11 (Green Party)
Minister of State 2010 – ‘11
First female TD elected for the Green Party
Deputy Leader of the Green Party

Lynn McEnery

European and World kickboxing champion.

Terry O'Connor-Glasgow

Deputy Conductor of Orchestra at 2RN (pre Radio Éireann)
Co-founder of the Dublin String Orchestra
Professor of Orchestra at R.I.A.M. & the College of Music

Kathleen O'Flaherty

Professor of French in U.C.C.
(1970 – 81)
Chevalier de l’Ordre National du Mérite

Bridget Mary Mallick-Redmond TD

1933-1952 (Cumann na nGaedheal)

Bridget Doolan

Director of Cork School of Music

Jessie Barr

Member of Team Ireland in the London Olympics 2012.

Finalist in 400 metres hurdles, European Championships 2012.

Represented Ireland in the World University Games 2011

Contact Us

+353 51 876510

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

St Angela's School, Ursuline Convent, Waterford

Find Us